I am so pissed off at Nascar
I know.. this is shocking to those of you who know me for I can't remember a time I haven't been a fan. Today has changed this to some degree. I blogged this on my myspace page so I'm just going to copy paste it here...
Why is it that even though the Busch race sells out in Memphis we get treated like redheaded step-children? Ok.. so I am a red head and was a step-child once upon a time.. but come ON!
There was suppose to be a "Parade" down Beale St today of some Busch cars. Yeah.. 4 cars showed up. 4. And only 2 actual drivers... Kenny and Steven Wallace. Are you KIDDING me? Ok.. So I adore Kenny and as a former/still Rusty Wallace fan I have to pull for Steven but come ON!
So we go back home and change clothes (after having stood in the rain and cold to see 2 drivers in the parade) and go all the way down to Sams Town Casino (over an hr away from my house) and guess who was there?
John Schneider (what?), John Andretti and Auggie Vindovich (sp?). Yeah.. thats it. WTF???? This is ri-damn-diculous! I am so pissed off at Nascar and their attitude that Memphis isn't good enough.
It's hard to remain a fan when you get treated like this. Sorry we arent as big as Charlotte or Bristol.. but dammit we sell out before the race even gets here... with over 4000 (thousand) season ticket holders. I'm writing a nasty letter to somebody... soon as I figure out who that somebody is.
Anyway.. here's the link to the pics I was able to take... I have a video of Kenny doing a burn out on Beale Street but I haven't placed it on a site to store yet...
share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=0AauGzNi3cM2LiA
Let me know if that doesn't work....
In defense of the guys that were there..
John Schneider looked good for his age although I know he's got to be sick of being Bo Duke.
John Andretti looks smaller than I thought he was.
And Auggie was the only one we bothered to get his autograph and he was very pleasant and as you can see from the pics.. he's not hard on the eyes... although I think I'm old enough to be his Mom. Lol!!!

No comments:
Post a Comment