Wednesday, March 09, 2005

Enuf is enuf...

Warning: This blog is not for the weak stomached…

Well I attempted to go back to work today. I did ok until about 12:45 when the coughing started. It was downhill, or rather hugging the trash can, from there.

Can I whine for a minute? (insert coughing spell)
I am so damn sick of being sick. I mean honestly. I've been sick for over 3 weeks. To top it off I have spent over $200 (which I don’t have) on medicine and alas... I'm still freakin' sick. (insert coughing spell) That's not counting what the hospital stay is going to cost me. Oh god, I think I need to lie down.

I've twice called the Dr who hovered over me while I was in the hospital and he has YET to return my calls. Today I even asked the girl in his office, "Should I expect to hear from him today?" To which she adamently stated, "Yes. As soon as he comes in the office, he'll call you." It's (looking at the clock) 8:15 pm and my phone has still not rang. I have an appt in the morning to see another doctor at the clinic where I normally go. I don't know why I am even bothering. Oh yes.. because of the nausea & coughing & retching. Yes! That would be it. Of course, if I dont actually puke on his shoe, he probably won't be very interested. Well, I suppose I could always be a bitch and see where that gets me. Yes, I know what you are thinking. It will be hard for me to be a bitch, but I'm pretty sure I can pull it off.

Oh yes. And lets not forget the company that I work for. I called them last Thursday to request leave of absence paperwork. The girl on the phone, Tammy I think, asks me about 15 questions, tells me I'll get the paperwork overnight in approx 24 hrs. Wow. I’m pretty impressed. 24 hrs?
Today is Wednesday and I still don't have the paperwork. I call when I get to work this morning and the gentleman (Steve I believe it was) tells me that I had to fill out some form that has to be downloaded from work before they can send out the LOA paperwork to my house. I ask him why in the hell (yes, those exact words), my “Case manager” didn’t tell me that when I called on Thursday. His answer, “Ma’am I apologize, I can not advise why she did not tell you.” I suddenly have a moment of lunacy when I realize that he is throwing at me the same bullshit that we spew every single day to the employees that we talk to on the phone concerning their benefits. Unfortunately, all this does is make me even angrier. I so very nicely (ha) tell him, “Well, then I think you need to rethink this whole damn process then huh?” I start to ask him questions and he quickly interrupts me to tell me he can not assist me and proceeds to transfer me to my "case manager" Tammy. (insert coughing spell) Tammy gets on the phone and I am just as sweet to her as I was to Steve. She walks me through how to find this paperwork that I need (we’re new to this company). I fill it out and email it to them so they can pay me for being off work sick as a dog. (Exactly how sick is that anyway?? And where did that saying come from?) Well, after leaving work I call again and guess who answers the phone? Yeah, Steve. I ask him about going back out on leave and he tells me he has no idea and I'll have to talk to my case manager. Then why in the HELL are you answering the fucking phone Steve? No, I didn't say that but I almost bit my tongue off to keep from screaming at him. He transfers me to Tammy and guess what? She's not at her desk. Big fuckin' surprise. I leave a detailed message and 2 phone numbers. No, I haven't hard back from her either.
(Note: I think I need a xanax)

Ok back to work. I go to our once a month, everyone has to attend meeting (blah blah blah is about all I heard). I take a couple calls and catch up on my emails,etc. It’s 12:30 pm. I need to tinkle. I go to the restroom for what I think is going to be a quick in and out but no.. the damn room smells like someone shit road kill and it proceeds to gag me so bad that I start coughing.. which leads to, you guessed it, praying to the porcelain goddess.

Ok.. you would think that sharing a large public restroom with women would be ok right? Wrong. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve walked into the room and the smell is so bad, I just hold it. Or, opened the stall door to see shit, or whatever, smeared all over the toilet, and once even on the damn floor. How in the hell did shit get on the floor? And if it’s smeared on the toilet.. it’s probably smeared on someone’s Stanky ass too. I don’t get to close to the women at work these days. *gag*
(Anywho, that’ll be a whole new blog one day).

Sorry. Got off track. Back to my day. I go to my desk and proceed to cough so violently that my neck, throat, chest & back are (still) killing me. My boss comes to my desk, rubs my back (bless her heart) while I puke in my trash can and tells me to go home. (insert coughing spell). What? You don't want to listen to me cough, and puke for the next 5 1/2 hours? Come on? Why not? *lol* Yeah, well I don't want to either.

That’s where I am now. At home. Still nauseous... still coughing.
(Note from editor: Just as I finish this blog my phone rings. I rush to answer it thinking it might be the good Dr or Tammy but alas, it was the NRA. Ha. That's just funny.)

No comments:

About Me

My photo
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Nascar Luvin', eBay addicted, verTically challenged, tattoo'd, funny, pierced, neurotic music luva who curses way to often... lol

CARL EDWARDS IN '07

CARL EDWARDS IN '07
You next Nextel Cup Champion

Carl's Car

Carl's Car
This was at Ofc Depot on Poplar

The Ole' Blogs