Whatcha doin' for Thanksgiving?
We are going over to Larry's parents house and having Thanksgiving dinner with his sisters, brother-in -law, niece, nephews, parents, aunt & uncle.
Word is there'll be enough food for an army. Lol.
If we were back home we would eat at my Mom's. She'd always make a big Thanksgiving dinner. It's hard for me not being with my family on Thanksgiving. I'm very much a family person and I feel like I'm missing out on so much by not being there to talk, laugh, food fight, etc. Lol. Memories from childhood are of me gagging as Mom took the "bag" out of the turkey (for those of you who have never cooked a whole turkey.. don't ask.. lol)... running into the living room to watch the Macy's parade for the umpteenth time. She'd finally finagle (sp?) me back into the kitchen to help stir something on the stove.
We'd end up with turkey, stuffing, gravy, taters (that us kids had tilled earlier in the year), a couple veggies, home made biscuits (or crescents if we had money enough), honey, molasses, cranberry sauce (that comes out of the can in a clump.. how is that sauce?).
Yummy. Even if we didn't eat anything but Beans and Potatoes (which was often the case) when I was growing up.. Thanksgiving we had a feast. We were never invited (to my knowledge) to any of my Step-father's family's homes even though we lived either beside them, or across the road from them. And my Mom's family cut us off years ago so I've never spent a Holiday with them. (Yeah.. lots of animosity there for both sets of those people... you read it right..lol)
But since then I've been priviledged enough to host my own Thanksgiving dinners, and to dine with some of the best friends that any person could ask for!!
This year I just have to make certain that I don't gain back those 25lbs I've lost. Lol.
Bring on the Turkey & Taters!!!! Lol Lol
(Anybody having naner puddin'?)
So what are you guys/gals gonna do for Thanksgiving?
Love, Char & Larry

No comments:
Post a Comment